My political leanings

September 12, 2006

I have a very diverse political background. My father was a staunch republican, my mother a moderate democrat. I come from a strong Catholic family, but have sisters who are members of NOW. So, that being said, I would describe myself as a “Bill Clinton democrat”. Here are some of my positions:

  • Abortion: Let’s get the biggie out of the way early. I am pro-choice, which is somewhat controversial for a Mormon. I just don’t believe in criminalizing abortion. However, I do favor waiting periods, notification of some responsible party for minors (although I recognize this might not always be a parent). I completely endorse the position of President Clinton – that abortion should be safe, legal and rare.
  •  National Defense: As a veteran and the son of a World War II veteran, I have strong commitment to national defense. I wouldn’t have chosen the war in Iraq, but I feel we need to complete the job as well as we are able. In the future, I would hope that we will be more intelligent about the use of our military resources, and use them in places where there is a more direct threat to America (like we did in Afhganistan).
  • Social Programs: Again, I am with President Clinton on this issue. He said the era of big government is over. I believe there can be a mix of public and private money, working together, to make things better for people. I believe strongly in the free enterprise system, but am NOT a believer in the idea that all government is bad. I think the answer to bad government isn’t no government, it’s better government.
Leave a Reply

